2010 MTV Africa Music Awards

On 11 December 2010 the MTV Africa Music Awards were hosted at the Eko Expo Hall in Lagos, Nigeria. Artists such as Fally Ipupa took home two trophies from his four nominations, as did 2Face, for his musical contributions. The evening was filled with wonderful surprises and break through achievements that were welcomed by the entire music community. The awards ceremony was held in conjunction with Airtel and also featured an array of spectacular performances to entertain audience members.

The diverse list of performances for the event included Liquideep (South Africa), Wande Coal (Nigeria), The Parlotones (South Africa), Big Nuz (South Africa), Lizha James (Mozambique), Cabo Snoop (Angola), Banky W (Nigeria), Paul G (Angola) and Public Enemy (USA) to name but a few. These performances heated up the evening, as one musician after the other walked onto the stage to receive their awards.

Airtel Africa Chief Marketing Officer, Andre Beyers, commented on the awards and performances, saying: “The diversity and talent of the performances this evening was a reflection of the vast and rich talent pool that Africa has to offer. We at Airtel are proud to partner with the MTV Africa Music Awards as it is a platform for the youth and young at heart in Africa, enabling them to showcase their talent to a global audience. Music is an important way to connect with Africa as we relaunch the Airtel brand on the continent. It will support Airtel’s mission of giving the youth a means to express themselves and the freedom to do more.”

The complete list of 2010 MTV Africa Music Award Winners was as follows:

Best Luophone – Cabo Snoop from Angola
Brand New Act – Mo’Cheddah from Nigeria
Best Anglophone – Daddy Owen from Kenya
Best Male Artist – 2Face from Nigeria
Best Performance – Big Nuz from South Africa
Best Female Artists – Sasha from Nigeria
Best Video – Fally Ipupa from DRC (Sexy Dance)
Song of the Year – Liquideep from South Africa (Fairytale)
Best Francophone – Fally Ipupa from DRC
Best Group – P-Square from Nigeria
Artist of the Year – 2Face from Nigeria
Best International Artist – Eminem from USA
MAMA Legend Award – Miriam Makeba from South Africa