2012 Polaris Music Prize Long-List Published

Established in 2006, the Polaris Music Prize is an annual music award for the best full-length Canadian album based purely on artistic merit. The stated mission of the Polaris Music Prize is to celebrate and reward diversity and creativity in Canadian recorded music. With no submission
process, or entry fee, all Canadian albums of more than 30 minutes and/or eight tracks, released within a given time-frame, automatically qualify for the long-list. Finalists are then selected by a jury including music journalists, bloggers, broadcasters and other Canadian music industry experts. At an event in Vancouver yesterday, the long-list of nominees for the 2012 Polaris Music Prize was made public and they are listed below, in no particular order.

A Tribe Called Red – A Tribe Called Red
Marie-Pierre Arthur – Aux alentours
Rich Aucoin – We’re All Dying To Live
Avec pas d’casque – Astronomie
Azari & III – Azari & III
Bahamas – Barchords
The Barr Brothers – The Barr Brothers
Blackie And The Rodeo Kings – Kings And Queens
Cadence Weapon – Hope In Dirt City
Kathryn Calder – Bright And Vivid
Cannon Bros – Firecracker / Cloudglow
Coeur de pirate – Blonde
Leonard Cohen – Old Ideas
Cold Specks – I Predict A Graceful Expulsion

Rose Cousins – We Have Made A Spark

Mark Davis – Eliminate The Toxins
Drake – Take Care
Kathleen Edwards – Voyageur
Feist – Metals
F—-d Up – David Comes To Life
Great Lake Swimmers – New Wild Everywhere
Grimes – Visions
Handsome Furs – Sound Kapital
Japandroids – Celebration Rock
Dan Mangan – Oh Fortune
Mares Of Thrace – The Pilgrimage
Ariane Moffatt – MA
Lindi Ortega – Little Red Boots
Parlovr – Kook Soul
Sandro Perri – Impossible Spaces
Joel Plaskett Emergency – Scrappy Happiness
PS I Love You – Death Dreams
John K. Samson – Provincial
Shooting Guns – Born To Deal In Magic: 1952-1976
The Slakadeliqs – The Other Side of Tomorrow
Patrick Watson – Adventures In Your Own Backyard
Bry Webb – Provider
The Weeknd – Echoes of Silence
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – YT//ST
Yukon Blonde – Tiger Talk

The short list of 10 nominees is expected to be released on 17 July 2012, with the winner of the Polaris Music Prize being announced at the Polaris gala event in Toronto on 24 September.