Digital Music Awards Ceremony 2010

The Camden Roundhouse was the venue for the tenth BT Digital Music Awards, which was held on 30 September 2010. Inaugurated in the year 2001, the awards are exclusive to the United Kingdom and only the Judges Choice categories are decided by a panel of judges, while the rest of the award winners are decided by the voting public. There are various categories for the awards, such as Best Blog, Best Fan Site and Best Place To Hear Music, and this year there were numerous worthy contenders in the nominations, making it a very difficult decision for all voters.

In the three artist categories of Best Female Artist, Best Male Artist and Best Group, there were a host of nominees that made the cut. For Best Female Artist the nominees where Ellie Goulding, Pixie Lott, Alexandra Burke, Cheryl Cole, Florence & The Machine and Leona Lewis; while the Best Male Artist category consisted of Plan B, Tinie Tempah, Dizzee Rascal, Chipmunk, Taio Cruz and Robbie Williams. In the Best Group, the Sugababes, Muse, JLS, The Saturdays, Mumford & Sons and N-Dubs were contending for the top slot. Cheryl Cole won her category for her debut solo release Fight For This Love, Robbie Williams took home the honors in the Best Male Artist category and JLS won Best Group for the Everybody In Love song, which also handed them the Best Video Award. The complete list of 2010 BT Digital Music Award winners and their categories are as follows:

Best Female Artist: Cheryl Cole
Best Song: Cheryl Cole:
Best Male Artist: Robbie Williams
Breakthrough Artist: Professor Green
Best Newcomer Artist: Tinie Tempah
Best International Artist: Lady Gaga
Best Independent Artist: Dizzee Rascal
Best Official Site: Muse
Best Fan Site:
Best Blog: Music Fix
Best Event: Nokia Presents Rihanna Live
Best Radio Show or Podcast: Buxton’s Big Mixtape Show and Podcast
Best Place to Discover Music: BBC Introducing
Best Artist Promotion: Gorillaz
Artist of the Year: Gorillaz

The feature that makes the Digital Music Awards truly unique is the fact that the awards not only focus on artists but bring recognition to various music platforms and assist in the development of music in all its shapes and forms.