Youth Mentorship Program at Mullum Music Festival

One of the highlights of the upcoming Mullumbimby Music Festival (22-25 November 2012) is the Youth Mentorship program which give rising young stars the opportunity to perform on stage and be mentored by an experienced musician in their chosen genre. The 2012 winners of the program were recently announced, having being chosen by youth mentorship judges Norman Parkhill of Source Music and Chloe Goodyear from Woodford Folk Festival. With more than 100 entries from talented young musicians to choose from, the judges no doubt had a tough time whittling the contestants down until the finalists of the five categories were chosen.

Fifteen-year old Matilda Dods of Ewingsdale took first place in the blues and roots category and will be working with Mama Kin. Matilda plays guitar, cello and piano, writing and performing her own original music. She performed at the Blues and Roots Festival earlier this year and has recorded a selection of her music on an album entitled A Fractional Mistake. North Wall is the band chosen to work with Joe Robinson. Primarily playing covers of bands like Arctic Monkeys, Cold Play and Red Hot Chili Peppers, North Wall is made up of teenagers Joel Puzey, Billy Slattery and Jack Hawkins.

The singer-songwriter category was won by 16-year old Annie Plummer, who will have the opportunity to work with Emily Lubitz and Tin Pan Orange. As a student of the local Scarlet School, Annie is a regular feature at local cafés and was one of the top three of the Byron’s Bluesfest busker’s competition. Reilly Fitzalen, who was chosen to perform at the Splendour Busking Competition, will be working with Darren Percival. Twin sisters Deana and Julia Batton (14) were chosen for the under-15 category and will have the opportunity to work with Scarlet Affections’ Scarlet School.

The lineup for the Mullum Music Festival 2012 includes Husky, Boubacar Traore from Mali, Tinpan Orange, The Abyssinians from Jamaica, Nano Sterm from Chile, Darren Percival, Clairy Browne and the Bangin’ Rackettes, Gossling, Joe Pug from the USA, Will and the People from the United Kingdom, Mia Dyson, King Tide, Electric Empire, Winter People, Liz Stringer, Gyan and many more.