2010 IBMA Nominees

The International Bluegrass Music Association was established in Kentucky in 1985, which led to the construction of the International Bluegrass Music Museum in 1988. The International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame was founded in 1991, raising the IBMA to a new level, and creating an organization that is dedicated the bluegrass music industry and its performers. Now located in Nashville (Tennessee), the IBMA have recently released the names of the 2010 International Bluegrass Music Association Awards and are getting ready to host a breathtaking event.

Ryman Auditorium will be the host venue of the 2010 IBMA Awards, which will be held on 30 September 2010. The awards will be broadcast and fans will see a few familiar faces amongst the nominees. Some were winners last year, while others have received consecutive nominations. Artists such as Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, Sam Bush Band, Patty Loveless, Ron Steward and Tony Rice can be found on the nominees list. The complete list of nominees and their categories are as follows:

Entertainer of the Year
The Del McCoury Band
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Dailey & Vincent
The Grascals

Vocal Group of the Year
Blue Highway
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
Dailey & Vincent
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year
Sam Bush Band
Blue Highway
The Infamous Stringdusters
Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Male Vocalist of the Year
Tim O’Brien
Junior Sisk
Jamie Dailey
Russell Moore
Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist of the Year
Dale Ann Bradley
Sonya Isaacs
Claire Lynch
Alison Krauss
Patty Loveless

Album of the Year
Dailey & Vincent Sing the Statler Brothers (Dailey & Vincent)
Circles Around Me (Sam Bush)
Ring the Bell (The Gibson Brothers)
The Famous Lefty Flynn’s (The Grascals)
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out (Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out)

Song of the Year
“The Ballad of Stringbean and Estelle” (Sam Bush)
“Elizabeth” (Dailey & Vincent)
“My Florida Sunshine” (Claire Lynch)
“Ring the Bell” (The Gibson Brothers)
“Hard Rock Mountain Prison” (Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out)

Recorded Event of the Year
“Give This Message to Your Heart” (Larry Stephenson ft. Dailey & Vincent)
“Bleeding for a Little Peace of Mind” (Blue Highway ft. Darrell Scott)
“Talk to Me Lonesome Heart” (Larry Stephenson, Connie Smith & Marty Stuart)
“That’s What Makes You Strong” (Claire Lynch with Jesse Winchester)
“I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome” (The Grascals with Hank Williams Jr.)

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year
“I Just Want to Thank You Lord” (Larry Sparks)
“Don’t You Wanna Go to Heaven” (Dailey & Vincent)
“Light on My Feet, Ready to Fly” (Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver)
“The Eastern Gate” (Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out)
“Ring the Bell” (The Gibson Brothers)

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year
“Cherokee Shuffle” (Josh Williams)
“Blue Mountain” (Sam Bush)
“Durang’s Hornpipe” (Adam Steffey)
“Blue Rock Slide” (The Grascals)
“Mourning Dove” (Steep Canyon Rangers)

Emerging Artist of the Year
Danny Paisley & The Southern Grass
Balsam Range
Sierra Hull & Highway 111
Josh Williams Band
Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice

J.D. Crowe
Sammy Shelor
Terry Baucom
Kristin Scott Benson
Ron Stewart

Missy Raines
Darrin Vincent
Marshall Wilborn
Barry Bales
Mike Bub

Stuart Duncan
Andy Leftwich
Jason Carter
Ron Stewart
Michael Cleveland

Jerry Douglas
Mike Auldridge
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs
Andy Hall

Bryan Sutton
Cody Kilby
Kenny Smith
Josh Williams
Tony Rice

Ronnie McCoury
Adam Steffey
Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull

Bluegrass Event of the Year
Podunk Bluegrass Music Festival
Pass It On: The 30th Anniversary Minnesota Bluegrass & Old-Time Music The 14th Annual
The Red, White & Bluegrass Festival

Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year
Chris Jones (Sirius XM Satellite Radio)
Kyle Cantrell (Sirius XM Satellite Radio)
Katy Daley (WAMU’s BluegrassCountry.org)

Print Media Person of the Year
Eddie Dean & Dr. Ralph Stanley
Derek Halsey
Larry Nager

Liner Notes for Recorded Project
Fred Bartenstein
Benji Flaming
Dr. Ted Olson

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project
Benji Flaming
Bill Womack
Julie Craig

Hall of Fame Inductees
John Hartford
Louise Scruggs

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients
Lynn Morris
Richard Weize
Sherry Boyd
Benjamin F. “Tex” Logan
Pete Wernick