ASCAP Founders Award for Steven Tyler & Joe Perry

A glowing commendation accompanied the announcement by ASCAP that Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler and Joe Perry will receive the 36th ASCAP Founders Award at the 2013 ASCAP Pop Music Awards on April 17 in Los Angeles. Referring to the two musicians as part of one of the nation’s greatest and most iconic rock bands, ASCAP noted that their music had defined a generation, while continuing to inspire songwriters today. The statement by ASCAP chairman Paul Williams went on to state that the two are “true musical pioneers whose contributions to American songwriting are immeasurable.”

Every year, ASCAP honors its top achieving members in a number of categories, being Rhythm & Soul, Pop, Film & Television; Country; Latin; Christian; and Concert Music. The ASCAP Founders Award is the organizations most prestigious award made to composers and songwriters who have served as an inspiration to fellow musicians. Each recipient of the ASCAP Founders Award is considered to be a musical innovator and creative genius.

Previous recipients include Stevie Wonder, Paul McCartney, Bob Dylan, Jule Styne, Smokey Robinson, Berry Gordy Jr. & Motown Industries, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, Tito Puente, Don Henley & Glen Frey, George Martin, Ashford & Simpson, Billy Joel, Stephen Sondheim, Joni Mitchell, Garth Brooks, Steely Dan, Tom Waits, Arturo Sandoval, Elmer Bernstein, James Taylor, Elvis Costello, Emmylou Harris, Jackson Browne, Neil Young, Ruben Blades, Annie Lennox, Melissa Etheridge, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Ann & Nancy Wilson, Patti Smith, Dr. Dre, Alan Jackson, Rod Stewart, and Sean “Diddy” Combs./p>

In an interview following the announcement, Steve Tyler noted that it was a humbling experience for himself and Joe Perry to be honored along with Stevie Wonder, Neil Young, Paul McCartney and Joni Mitchel, making special mention of Tom Waits, saying that “any society that lets Tom Waits in … I’m there!”

Operating as a non-profit performance-rights organization, ASCAP – American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers – protects the musical copyrights of its members by ensuring they are compensated for public broadcast and live performances of their music. ASCAP distributed more than $821 million in royalties to its members in 2011, having collected more than $982 million in fees and working on a 12.1 percent commission for expenses.