Nominations for Canadian Music Awards

In 1976 the Academy of Country Music Entertainment was established to promote and develop country music in Canada. Its name was changed to the Canadian Country Music Association in 1987. The association hosted their first Canadian Country Music Awards ceremony to honor country music artists in the year 1982. It has recently released its nominations for the 2011 Canadian Country Music Awards, of which Johnny Reid leads the field with no less than six nominations. Other artists such as Gord Bamford, Dean Brody and George Canyon have also received multiple nominations.

Albums such as Johnny Reid’s A Place Called Love, will be coming up against other worthy albums including Carolyn Dawn Johnson’s Love Rules and Dean Brody’s Trail in Life. And the other categories are also filled with names that deserve to win, which is going to make the 2011 edition of the Canadian Country Music Awards extremely exciting. The awards ceremony will be hosted at the Copps Coliseum, located in Ontario, on 12 September 2011, and will be broadcast live.

The list of nominees is as follows:

Album of the Year: Better Be Home Soon (George Canyon), Trail in Life (Dean Brody), A Place Called Love (Johnny Reid), Sunday Afternoon (Aaron Lines) and Love Rules (Carolyn Dawn Johnson).

Single of the Year: Trail in Life (Dean Brody), My Daughter’s Father (Gord Bamford), Watching You Walk Away (Shane Yellowbird), That’s How I Wanna Go Out (Deric Ruttan) and Today I’m Gonna Try and Change the World (Johnny Reid).

Fans Choice Award: George Canyon, Doc Walker, Johnny Reid, Dean Brody and Terri Clark.

CMT Video of the Year: My Daughter’s Father, Today I’m Gonna Change The World, Better Be Home Soon, That’s How I Wanna Go Out and I’m Gonna Make You Love Me.

Songwriter(s) of the Year: Put Some Alcohol On It (Gord Bamford, Roger Brown and Byron Hill), Today I’m Gonna Try and Change the World (Johnny Reid and Brent Maher), That’s How I Wanna Go Out (Deric Ruttan and Lee Thomas Miller), Trail in Life (Dean Brody) and Watching You Walk Away (Troy Kokol, Kenny Sitter and Willie Mack).

Male Artist of the Year: George Canyon, Deric Ruttan, Gord Bamford, Dean Brody and Johnny Reid.

Female Artists of the Year: Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Tenille, Victoria Banks, Tara Oram and Terri Clark.

Roots Artist or Group of the Year: Corb Lund, Ridley Bent, Jimmy Rankin, Kirsten Jones and Shane Chisholm.

Group or Duo of the Year: Emerson Drive, High Valley, Doc Walker, The Heartbroken and Hey Romeo.

Rising Star: High Valley, Codie Prevost, Jaydee Bixby, Ladies of the Canyon and Chad Brownlee.

Other Categories that fall under the 2011 CCMA All Star Band Award Nominees include Drums, Bass, Guitar, Keywords, Fiddle, Steel Guitar and Special Instrument. The Industry Award Nominees include Management Company of the Year, Booking Agency of the Year, Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year, Country Club of the Year, Album Design of the Year, Website of the Year, Video Director of the Year, Music Publishing Company of the Year, Record Producer(s) of the Year, Record Producer(s) of the Year, Recording Studio of the Year, Record Company of the Year, Record Company Person of the Year and Retailer of the Year. Under the Broadcast Award Nominees categories are Country Festival/ Fair or Exhibition of the Year, Country Music Program or Special of the Year, Music Director of the Year and Music Director of the Year.