Nominees for Canadian Country Music Awards Announced

With the 2008 Canadian Country Music Awards just around the corner, the nominees for this prestigious ceremony have been officially announced. For those involved in this exciting music event, it is time to dust off their evening wear and get ready for one great evening of glamour, recognition and music.

Not much can compare to finally getting the recognition one deserves after years and years of hard work. Getting that recognition at an event like the Canadian Country Music Awards is even better. Newcomer Jessie Farrell looks set to enjoy a fabulous evening, with nominations for “Single of the Year”, “Album of the Year”, “CMT Video of the Year”, “Songwriter of the Year”, “Fan’s Choice”, “Top New Talent of the Year-Female” and “Female Artist of the Year”. No doubt this talented musician will be spending more time on the stage than in her seat – especially as she is also performing at the glamorous event.

And while it does seem that Jessie Farrell is dominating the nominations somewhat, she is not the only person to be nominated to receive a prize at the 2008 Canadian Country Music Awards. Paul Brandt, George Canyon, Deric Ruttan and Gord Bamford have also received multiple nominations for their music. Other names that have made the list include: Doc Walker, Emerson Drive, Crystal Shawanda, Johnny Reid, Terri Clark, Lisa Brokop, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Shane Yellowbird, Ambush, The Higgins, The Wilkinsons, Ridley Bent, The Cruzeros, Sean Hogan, Corb Lund, Prairie Oyster, Amber Nicholson, Alex J. Robinson, Jason Blaine, Desert Heat, Hey Romeo, Jo Hikk and The Road Hammers, amongst others.

Terri Clark, who won last year’s “Fan’s Choice” award, will be hosting the show while Doc Walker, Emerson Drive, George Canyon and Dierks Bentley will be joining Jessie Farrell on the stage as performers. If you are interested in seeing the actual award ceremony, you will be able to watch it on CBC Television from 8 pm when it will be broadcast live. The actual event will take place on September 8 at the lovely MTS Center, which is situated in Winnipeg, Manitoba. If you love Canadian country music, make sure that you don’t miss out on this great ceremony.