Polaris Music Prize 2010

The Polaris Music Prize was created to bring recognition to Canadian musicians and to award them for their contributions to the music industry. The prize is not for a specific genre or record label, it is awarded on merit and has a cash prize of C$20 000. Based on the award handed to Irish and British music albums, namely the Mercury Music Prize, the Polaris Music Prize is awarded to a full length Canadian music album. Forty album names have been released, voted for by broadcasters, the Polaris Music Prize Jury, bloggers and journalists. This list will be narrowed down to ten, after which a winner will be chosen.

The complete list of nominations for the Polaris Music Prize 2010 has been released as follows:
The Besnard Lakes – The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night
Apollo Ghosts – Mount Benson
Brasstronaut – Mt. Chimaera
Bahamas – Pink Strat
By Divine Right – Mutant Message
Blue Rodeo – The Things We Left Behind
Caribou – Swim
Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles II
Basia Bulat – Heart Of My Own
Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
Fred Fortin – Plastrer La Lune

Jason Collett – Rat A Tat Tat
Frog Eyes – Paul’s Tomb: A Triumph
Amelia Curran – Hunter Hunter
Karkwa – Les Chemins de Verre
Hannah Georgas – This is Good
Holy F-k – Latin
Ghostkeeper – Ghostkeeper
Lee Harvey Osmond – A Quiet Evil
Misteur Valaire – Golden Bombay
Dan Mangan – Nice, Nice, Very Nice
Greg MacPherson – Mr Invitation
Plants and Animals – La La Land
The New Pornographers – Together
Radio Radio – Belmundo Regal
Shad – TSOL
Owen Pallett – Heartland
The Slew – 100%
Justin Rutledge – The Early Widows
Meaghan Smith – The Cricket’s Orchestra
Tegan And Sara – Sainthood
South Rakkas Crew – The Stimulus Package
The Sadies – Darker Circles

You Say Party!We Say Die! – XXXX
Elizabeth Shepard – Heavy Falls the Night
Hawksley Workman – Meat
Zeus – Say Us
Young Galaxy – Invisible Republic
The Wooden Sky – If I Don’t Come Home You’ll Know I’m Gone
Yukon Blonde – Yukom Blonde.

On 6 July 2010 the shortlist of ten nominees will be released in order for further voting to take place. The final winner will be announced on 20 September, and a new album will join the ranks of previous winners such as Patrick Watson, Final Fantasy and Caribou.