43rd Annual ACM Awards

Each year thousands of country musicians gather together for one of the most celebrated country music events of the year: The Annual ACM Awards. This year’s award ceremony marked the 43rd time that this event had taken place since its inception in 1965. The glamorous event was certainly one to remember.

The Academy of Country Music (ACM) was founded in 1964 as an organisation that provides resources to assist to artists and other members of the country music industry. The charitable fund supports and promotes music education, as well as a number of humanitarian programs. It also promotes healing and learning through music. Over the years the ACM has grown considerably and today it has more than 4,500 professional members and 40,000 associate members. Just one year after the charity organisation was founded, it was seen fit to honour not only the biggest names in the country music industry but also to showcase emerging talents. The Annual ACM Award Ceremony was created to this effect.

The 2008 Annual ACM Award Ceremony took place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday 18 May at 8:00. The ceremony received massive live television coverage and had a star-studded line-up. This year marked the first time that fans where allowed to choose the winner of the ‘Entertainer of the Year’ category and more than half a million fans chose to cast their vote for this prestigious honour. In the end, it was Kenny Chesney who took the title home for the fourth time in a row. Brad Paisley was chosen as the Top Male Vocalist while Carrie Underwood was the Top Female Vocalist. The Rascal Flatts were voted Top Vocal Group and Brooks & Dunn where selected as the Top Vocal Duo. Awards also went to: Jack Ingram (Top New Male Vocalist), Taylor Swift (Top New Female Vocalist), Lady Antebellum (Top New Duo or Vocal Group), Miranda Lambert (Album Of The Year for “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend”), Sugarland (Single Record Of The Year and Song Of The Year for “Stay” composed by Jennifer Nettles), Brad Paisley (Video Of The Year for “Online” directed by Jason Alexander) and the Tracy Lawrence/Tim Mc Graw/Kenny Chesney trio (Vocal Event Of The Year for “Find Out Who Your Friends Are”).