Nominations for Music Emmys Released

The gleaming body of a woman, based on Louis McManus’s wife, holding an atom above her head has become one of the most recognized statuettes in the world. Created in the year 1948, she is the symbol of the Emmy Awards and a prized possession by those who have received her. Even though the Emmy Awards are focused on television production, the Academy prides itself in recognizing the contributions made by everyone involved in the television entertainment industry. The nominations for the music-related Emmy Awards were released recently, with very deserving names making the list.

Any television production or program would not receive much attention without music. Theme songs that the public associate with their favorite programs, as well as specially written scores to enhance the storyline or carry across a message, play a major role in the industry. And it is for their invaluable contributions to television productions that the Academy brings honor to the songwriters, music directors and composers. There are five categories to the music Emmys, and nominations for their work are as follows:

Outstanding Music Composition for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special:
Marcelo Zarvos (You Don’t Know Jack)
Todd Boekelheide (Blessed Is The Match)
Alex Wurman (Temple Grandin)
Jeff Beal (Georgia O’Keeffe)
Lawrence Shragge (When Love Is Not Enough: The Lois Wilson Story)
Hans Zimmer, Blake Neely and Geoff Zanelli (The Pacific – Part Ten).

Outstanding Music Composition for a Series:
Sean P Callery (Episode “3:00 – 4:00 PM” of 24)
Michael Giacchino (“The End” episode of Lost)
Michael McCuistion, Michael Jelenic, Lolita Ritmanis, James Tucker and Kristopher Carter (“Mayhem Of The Music Meister” episode of Batman: The Brave and The Bold)
John Robert Wood and Adam Cohen (“Mr. Yin Presents” episode of Psych)
Ramin Djawadi (“No More Good Days” episode of FlashForward).

Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music:
Vincent Jones and Gaby Moreno (Parks and Recreation)
Jason Keaton and Oscar Owens (Justified)
Edward Rogers (Warehouse 13)
Bear McCreary (Human Target)
Lisa Coleman and Wendy Melvoin (Nurse Jackie).

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics:
Craig Thomas and Carter Bays (Nothing Suits Me Like A Suit)
Seth MacFarlane and Walter Murphy (Down’s Syndrome Girl)
Brad Hatfield and Peter Tolan (How Lovely To Be A Vegetable)
Steve Earle (This City)
Jorma Taccone, Aleric Banks, Akiva Schaffer and Andy Samberg (Shy Ronnie)
Randy Newman (When I’m Gone).

Outstanding Music Direction:
David Downes (Celtic Woman: Songs From The Heart)
Dave Pierce (Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games Opening Ceremony)
Marc Shaiman (82nd Annual Academy Awards)
Sheila E (In Performance At The White House: Fiesta Latina)
Rob Berman and Rob Mathes (The Kennedy Center Honors)
David Foster (Andrea Bocelli & David Foster: My Christmas).