Review of the Juno Awards

In 1964, RPM Magazine established the Juno Awards, to bring recognition to the Canadian music industry. The name of the awards changed a few times over the years, but in 1964, it was renamed in honor of Pierre Juneau, who was the head of the CRTC, at that time. At this stage, there were only sixteen award categories for the Juno Awards, but by 2010, there were thirty-nine, as the categories grew according to the development within the music industry. Some of the categories include Vocal Jazz Album of the Year, New Artist of the Year, Rap Recording of the Year and Dance Recording of the year.

The Royal York Hotel in Toronto hosted the prestigious event on Saturday, 26 March 2011, and forty awards were handed out during this televised event. Arcade Fire from Montreal proved to be a very popular band on Saturday night, walking away with no less than four awards, while legendary artist Neil Young, was honored with the Humanitarian Award, for his work with generating support for Farm Aid, and his dedication to children and their educational needs, which he promotes through his Bridge Project. All the winners of the Juno Award were as follows:

Artist of the Year – Neil Young
Album of the Year – The Suburbs (Arcade Fire)
New Artist of the Year – Meaghan Smith
Group of the Year – Arcade Fire
Juno Fan Choice Award – Justin Bieber
Alternative Album of the Year – The Suburb (Arcade Fire)
Songwriter of the Year – Arcade Fire
New Group of the Year – Said The Whale (Hidden Pony)
Pop Album of the Year – My World 2.0 (Justin Bieber)
International Album of the Year – Teenage Dream (Kate Perry)
Rap Recording of the Year – TSOL (Shad)
Country Album of the Year – A Place Called Love (Johnny Reid)
Rock Album of the Year – Vancouver (Matthew Good)
Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year – Treelines (Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra)
Adult Alternative Album of the Year – Le Noise (Neil Young)
Traditional Jazz Album of the Year – Our First Set (John MacLeod’s Rex Hotel Orchestra)
Vocal Jazz Album of the Year – Nina (Kellylee Evans)
Francophone Album of the Year – Les Chemins de Verre (Karkwa)
Instrumental Album of the Year – Continent & Western (Fond of Tigers)
Classical Album of the Year (Solo or Chamber Ensemble) – Beethoven (Piano Trios Op 70 No 1 and Ghost & No2 Op 11 Gryphon Trio)
Classical Album of the Year (Large Ensemble or Soloists Accompanied by Large Ensemble) – Mozart – (Scott and Lara St. John / The Knights Lara St. John)
Classical Composition of the Year – Duo for Violin and Piano (R. Murray Schafer)
Classical Album of the Year (Vocal of Choral Performance) – Great Operatic Arias (Gerald Finley)
Children’s Album of the Year – Proud Like A Mountain (Peter Lenton)
R&B / Soul Recording of the Year – Stars (Quanteisha)
Dance Recording of the Year – Sofi Needs a Ladder (Deadmau5)
Roots & Traditional Album of the Year – My Hands Are on Fire and Other Love Songs (Old Man Luedecke)
Roots & Traditional Album of the Year (Group) – La Part de Feu (Le Vent de Nord)
Aboriginal Album of the Year – CerAmony (CerAmony)
Reggae Recording of the Year – Likkle But Mi Tallawah (Elaine Lil’Bit Shepard D’Maestro)
Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year – Love & the Lack Thereof (Greg Sczebel)
World Music Album of the Year – Aksil (Elage Diouf)
Blues Album of the Year – Everywhere West (Jim Byrnes)
Recording Engineer of the Year – Kevin Churcko (Let It Die) / (Life Won’t Wait)
Recording Package of the Year – Jimmy Collins & Elisabeth Chicoine (photographers), Justin Peroff, Robym Kotyk, Joe McKay and Charles Spearin (Art Directors / Designers), Forgiveness Rock Record Vinyl Box Set
Jack Richardson Producer of the Year – Daniel Lanios (Hitchiker and I Believe In You)
Electronic Album of the Year – Swim (Caribou)
Music DVD of the Year – Rush: Beyond The Lighted Stage (Sam Dunn, Shelly Nott, Scot McFayden, John Virant, Noah Segal and Pegi Cecconi)
Video of the Year – Perfect (Kyle Davison)