2011 NRJ Music Awards

The NRJ Music Awards is one of the newest awards on the block, founded by TF1 Television Network and NRJ radio station in the year 2000. It is an annual event that recognizes the contributions made by musicians in the popular music category, and the awards ceremony is held in Cannes, France, every January. On Saturday, 22 January 2011, the 2011 NRJ Music Awards were hosted, with numerous stars and celebrities attending this prestigious event. It turned out to be an extremely successful evening for Shakira, who walked away with two awards for the evening.

Shakira walked away victorious on Saturday night with her hit single Waka Waka (This Time For Africa), which was produced as an anthem for the 2010 World Cup that hosted in South Africa. She secured the 2011 Song of the Year Award and the International Female Artist of the Year. Other artists who won more than one award for the evening included the Black Eyed Peas and David Guetta. Apl.de.ap and Will.I.Am attended the NRJ Awards and received the awards on behalf of the the Black Eyed Peas, taking the International Duo / Group of the Year Award as well as the Concert of the Year. David Guetta was honored with the NRJ Award of Honor and the Hit of the Year where he featured in Flo Rida’s Club Can’t Handle Me. The full list of award winners is as follows:

Francophone Revelation of the Year: Joyce Jonathan
Francophone Female Artist of the Year: Jenifer
Francophone Male Artist of the Year: M. Pokora
Francophone Group/Duo of the Year: Justin Nozuka & Zaho
Francophone Song of the Year: M. Pokora (Juste Une Photo De Toi)
International Revelation of the Year: Justin Bieber
International Female Artist of the Year: Shakira
International Male Artist of the Year: Usher
International Group/Duo of the Year: Black Eyed Peas
International Song of the Year: Shakira (Waka Waka This Time for Africa)
Hit of the Year: Flo Rida featuring David Guetta (Club Can’t Handle Me)
Concert of the Year: Black Eyed Peas
Music Video of the Year: Lady GaGa and Beyonce Knowles (Telephone)
NRJ Award of Honor: David Guetta