The Ivor Novello Awards

For British composers and songwriters there is no greater honor than receiving an Ivor Novello Award for their contributions to the music industry. The awards, also referred to as The Ivors, were established in 1955 and were named after the world renowned Ivor Novello, who was born in Cardiff and became a legendary entertainer. Each year at the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors, or BASCA, Ivor Novello Awards are presented to the winners of that year. This year The Ivors will be held in Grosvernor House in London on 20 May 2010.

The BASCA awards are hosted in association with PRS Music. Each winner walks away with a breathtaking sculpture of Euterpe, made from solid bronze. The voting process is done by the writing community. Record companies and publishers have no influence on the judging or voting. Past winners of this prestigious award have included Kate Bush, Dido, Madonna, Annie Lennox, Oasis, John Lennon, Fatboy Slim, Yusuf Islam, U2, Amy Winehouse, Pet Shop Boys, Leonie Lewis, Robbie Williams, Freddie Mercury, Eric Clapton and Craig David, to name but a few.

This year, a new list of nominees will wait anxiously to hear if they have won and the categories for the Ivor Novello Awards are as follows: Best Contemporary Song, Best Song Musically and Lyrically, Best Television Soundtrack, Album Award, PRS For Music Most Performed Work, Best Original Film Score and Best Original Video Game Score. Other awards will also be handed out at the awards ceremony, known as Gift of the Academy, and includes the International Achievement Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, PRS For Outstanding Contribution To British Music Award, Songwriter of the Year, Special International Award, The Academy Fellowship Award, The Ivors Classical Music Award and The Ivors Inspiration Award. Many songwriters look back on their past achievements with fondness, such as Sir Paul McCartney, saying: “I remember coming here the very first time with my mates John, George and Ringo. Sitting back there just as little kids we were… And it was just fantastic to be part of this songwriting thing. It was always the greatest award – the greatest thing to get for songwriters. I think it still is.”